Boston Marathon

Boston Marathon

Join us for the social buzz on the Boston Marathon.

Women’s winner Sharon Cherop holds her trophy. (John Tlumacki / Globe Staff)
by on Apr 16, 2012 at 12:55 PM

Happy Marathon Monday! Boston and surrounding towns celebrated the day by cheering runners who ran the 26.2 mile stretch. 

The winners: Wesley Korir won the men's race with an unofficial time of 2:12:40, while Sharon Cherop won in the women's category with an unofficial time of 2:31 in this year's Boston Marathon. Other winners include Joshua Cassidy, who finished the men's race in 1:18:25, setting a world record. Shirley Reilly won the women's category in the wheelchair race in 1:37:36.

Are you on the sidelines? Who are you rooting for? Do you feel inspired? Send us your thoughts in the comment box below. 

Follow this live blog for photos, tweets, and other updates of the sites and scenes along the route of the Boston Marathon. 

For stride-by-stride Boston Marathon race updates, follow our race tracker.

Good luck to all the runners!  >> Complete Boston Marathon coverage

Powered by Platform for Live Reporting, Events, and Social Engagement